From the concept to the execution of the comprehensive congress-programme – for each stage we have a network of dedicated experts. 

Scientific Chair

On top there is the Scientific Chair, whose members define the frame of the congress and make sure that the key themes run through the program like a thread. Together with the Programm coordinator, they evaluate the recent political, legal and technical developments.

Professor Dr. Franz Winter
Vienna University of Technology, Institute of Chemical, Environmental & Biological Engineering, Austria

Professor Ing. Dagmar Juchelková, Ph. D.
Technical University of Ostrava (VŠB) Head of the Department Energy Engineering and Research Manager of the Centre ENET, Czech Republic

Programm Coordinaton

Dr.-Ing. Stephanie Thiel
Scientific Director of Thomé-Kozmiensky Verlag GmbH, Germany

Congress Organisation

Elisabeth Thomé-Kozmiensky, M.Sc.
Managing Director of Thomé-Kozmiensky Verlag GmbH, Germany

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee is a permanent body of experts. Its members are selected and well-known personalities working with or in the industry. They support the Scientific Chair and the Programme Coordinator with their knowledge about current developments in the international waste-to-energy sector. Many of them are taking on also an active role at the IRRC - by giving a speech or by lecturing a session.

Associate Professor Dr.-Ing. Lale Andreas
Luleå University of Technology, Department of Civil, Environmental and Natural Resources Engineering, Waste Science & Technology, Sweden

Professor Dr.-Ing. Michael Beckmann
Technical University Dresden, Director of the Institute of Process Engineering and Environmental Technology, Germany

Patrick Clerens
Secretary General, European Suppliers of Waste to Energy Technology (ESWET), Belgium

Professor Dr. Ertugrul Erdin
Dokuz Eylül Universitesi Mühendislik Fakülltesi, Cevre Mühendisligi Bölümü, Buca-Izmir, Turkey

Dipl. Natw. Trimurti Irzan
Küsnacht, Switzerland

Professor Dr.-Ing. Martin Kranert
University of Stuttgart, Chair of Waste Management and Emissions, Germany

Professor Dr. Rundong Li
Shenyang Aerospace University, Director for Institute of Clean Energy & Environmental Engineering (ICEEE), China

Professor Dipl-Ing. Dr. techn. Karl E. Lorber
University of Leoben, Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Maaß
FDBR e.V. – Association of Process Plant Engineering
– Energy, Environment, Process Industry, Executive Member of the Management Board, Germany

Dipl.-Ing. Ulrich Martin
Managing Director of Martin GmbH für Umwelt- und Energietechnik, Germany

Dipl.-Phys. Karl-Heinz Müller
Chief Operating Officer of EEW Energy from Waste GmbH, Germany

Adj. Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Abdallah Nassour
University of Rostock, Chair of Waste and Resource Management, Germany

Professor Dr. Rodrigo Navia
University of La Frontera, Department of Chemical Engineering, Chile

Professor Ph.D. Eur. Ing. Dr.-Ing. habil. Tadeusz Pajak
University of Science and Technology AGH Kraków, Department of Power Systems and Environment, Poland

Assistant Professor Ing. Martin Pavlas, Ph.D.
Brno University of Technology, Institute of Process and Environmental Engineering, Czech Republic

Dipl.-Chem.-Ing. Luciano Pelloni
Waste Management Advice, Switzerland

Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Roland Pomberger
University of Leoben, Chair of Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Professor Constantinos S. Psomopoulos, Ph.D
Piraeus University of Applied Sciences, Director of the Electric Power Division and High Voltage Lab, Greece

Professor Dr.-Ing. Peter Quicker
RWTH Aachen, Unit of Technology of Fuels, Germany

Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Harald Raupenstrauch
University of Leoben, Chair of Thermal Processing Technology, Austria

Professor Dipl.-Ing. Dr. techn. Helmut Rechberger
Vienna University of Technology, Institute of Water Quality, Resources and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Gert Riemenschneider
Managing Director of Steinmüller Babcock Environment GmbH, Germany

Professor Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Rommel
Managing Director of bifa Umweltinstitut GmbH, Augsburg, Germany

Professor Dr.-Ing. Vera Susanne Rotter
Technical University Berlin, Chair of Solid Waste Management, Germany

Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Renato Sarc
University of Leoben, Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management, Austria

Dr.-Ing. Frank Schumacher
Managing Director of Zweckverband RBB Restmüllheizkraftwerk Böblingen, Germany

Professor Ing. Ph.D. Ľubomír Šooš
Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava, Director of the Institute of Manufacturing Systems, Environmental Technology
and Quality Management, Slovakia

Professor Dr.-Ing. habil. Dr. h.c. Petr Stehlík
Brno University of Technology, Director of the Institute of Process Engineering, Czech Republic

Dr. Ella Stengler
Managing Director of CEWEP – Confederation of European Waste-to-Energy Plants e.V., Belgium

Associate Professor Dr. Pál Szentannai
Budapest University of Technology and Economics (BME), Deputy Head of Department of Energy Engineering, Hungary

Professor Dr.-Ing. Oktay Tabasaran
Istanbul, Turkey and Stuttgart, Germany

Professor Nickolas J. Themelis
Director of the Earth Engineering Center, Columbia University
Chairman of WTERT Waste-to-Energy Research and Technology Council, New York, United States

Dr. ir. Robert van Kessel
Operating Agent, Prewin network, Ugchelen, Netherlands

Dr. Costas A. Velis
Lecturer in Resource Efficiency Systems, University of Leeds, Institute for Public Health and Environmental Engineering, United Kingdom

Dipl.-Masch.-Ing. Thomas Vollmeier
President of TBF + Partner AG Consulting Engineers, Zurich, Switzerland, Chairman of IRF International Recovery Foundation

Associate Professor Dr. Sc. Patrik Yrjas, Senior Researcher

Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry, Åbo Akademi Johan Gadolin Process Chemistry Centre, Finland

Dipl.-Ing. Klaus-Günther Zink
Directeur Général Adjoint/Secteur Environnement, CNIM S.A., La Seyne-sur-Mer CEDEX, France


Speakers & Presenters